day 6 pt. 4 {vacation chronicles}

How many parts does Day 6 actually have?! I have a hard time letting go, what can I say? Really though…we are almost to Day 7. I figure if I work this right, by the time we get to the end of this vacation I should be leaving on a jet plane for my next trip down there. And then we will just rename the blog {The Costa Rica Chronicles} Sounds good, right?

So listen. Day 6 was pretty great. But then there was this moment. And I started crying. And stomping my feet. And then I looked up at the sky, and the sky was dark, and little rain drops hit my forehead, and then I panicked. When I am taking pictures, I tend to lose myself a bit. I am not super aware of my surroundings. I sometimes lose things. And during day 6, the time finally came to change my memory card. And so I took out the card that had six days worth of photos on it (SIX DAYS WORTH OF PHOTOS), put it in my card case, but the card case in my back pocket, and carried on with my day. And then. And then I realized that my card case was gone. And with it, every. single. photo. I had taken on the entire trip.

Shall we talk panic? Did I mention my card case is green. A great match to the lovely green grass. Would you like to know how much grass we walked through? PANIC. Ok. So I remembered exactly where I had changed my card out, so at least we had a starting point. And I had decided that worst case scenario, I would put out a reward to the staff, and pay who ever found it for me. We were in a poor country, those photos were worth a lot to me, I knew they would help me out. Because even without the money, I had yet to meet a Costa Rican that wasn’t willing to help.

We split up, and not long after I heard a whistle. I went running to the whistle, which was coming from my husband. And there. There in his hand was my card case. SIGH OF RELIEF.

Were the photos worth it? Absolutely…

Costa Rica | Iguana | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

Costa Rica | Iguana | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

SO. How did I lose my card case? I was crawling around on the ground, creeping in on this guy’s personal space. When he first looked at me with this face, I thought for sure what he was saying went along the lines of “girrrrrrrl, you better back up. Have you seen how long my tail is?” In hindsight, I think what this face was saying was “girrrrrrrrl, did you not just see that your memory card case just fell? Pick it up!

Costa Rica | Iguana | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

 

 

 

OK   *sigh of frustration here* My most favorite photo of all of these? Well, I can’t show you. Because I think my blog has had enough of my procrastination and has finally decided to punish me for my inconsistent blogging and refuses to allow me to post any more photos. I am embarrassed to admit that to just get these three photos in took over a week and a half. *SIGH* So, that is all for the moment…..I need to go stand in a corner and scream now!

 

Leave a comment