then there was that one time I was too busy guarding my breakfast….

We were merely eating breakfast. We were fueling up for the weekend. We were preparing for two concerts. The excitement level was up there.

We were just finishing up a conversation that went a little like this:

April, I love you, but I need to break some news to you…I can’t stalk the band this year. Let’s enjoy the weekend, and not cook out in the sun outside of a hotel. We don’t want to risk ending up in another first aid station. We have been so very lucky with all the cool things that have happened, so I am content with nothing crazy happening this time around.

April agreed.

And then the conversation went a little like this:

April: Look, it’s Rashawn (DMB trumpet player)
Me: No it’s not
A: Yes it IS. Look!!!
<two girls staring and pointing at Rashawn as he walks towards us>
K: That is SO not him! He is way too skinny. You are wrong.
A: That is him. It is Rashawn
<Rashawn pausing at our table to give two pointing and staring girls a ridiculously hilarious smile as he walks by>
A: SEE?! It’s HIM!
K: psh, you don’t know what you are talking about.
A: But that is Daryl (DMB manager)
K: I see Daryl, but I am telling you, that is not him! He is so itty bitty!
A: PSH I’ll show you!

Up she goes, heads over to “Rashawn” and Daryl, and has a conversation.

I casually sit at the table watching. Phone in one hand, sausage speared at the end of my fork, dripping syrup. Waiting for the sign that I should leap up and race over to get a picture.

April comes back. Sits down.

A: See? I told you it was him 🙂
K: WHAT?! Why didn’t you alert me?! A head nod? A hand wave? Scream “IT’S HIM! COME OVER HERE!!!”
A: Oops.

But really, my breakfast was gooooood. I would have hated to have left it all alone, at risk of someone stealing it for it’s deliciousness.

The next day, we went back to breakfast. Because we have dumb luck, it so happened that we once again stumbled upon our new best friend, Rashawn Ross. We waited for them to finish breakfast. Then we waited for them to pay. Then we waited for him to get off the phone. Then we raced after him.

Rashawn: Didn’t I already meet you?!
A: So sorry, but I am kicking myself for not getting a picture with you. Would you mind?
R: No, not at all.

<snap a picture>

Rashawn begs to have his picture taken with me. *sigh* I suppppppppose. But could we please make it quick? I have places to be.

Ok, so maybe that isn’t exactly what happened, but if you listen to the story my smile is telling, it is pretty close 😉

I promise you that I am exploding with joy on the inside. My belly is flip-flopping. My head is spinning. I want to dance all over the sidewalk and scream. But there were these other times, when I met famous people, and I happily got in front of the camera………and……..made the most ridiculous smiles known to man. It’s a work in progress people. A work in progress. I need to have it nailed for when I get my photo opportunity with Dave 🙂

The next day, this may have happened to happen as well…

This is Boyd Tinsley (yup…this is who Tinsley the Pug is named after! He’s my favorite band member after Dave!)

We had an incredible weekend. We had good seats on Friday night. The show was pretty fabulous. And then Saturday night came around. And we had better than good seats. We had the pit. We got there early. We waited in line in the heat.We waited in the pit in the heat. We waited. And waited. And waited. It was hot. Did I mention that? But all the waiting was worth it. Because we were CLOSE.

This is the lawn crowd. We have spent a lot of time in the lawn, but we were happy to be out of it 😉

The view from the pit…

yup…only two pairs of legs between me and the stage 😉

and now, allow me to flood you with some photos…..

and my most favorite of the night….

so that’s my story, and I am sticking to it 🙂

If you actually read all that, and looked at all these, well thanks!

 

*and just a reminder…these photos are © Kulik Photography…they belong to me, not you, so please do not steal them. Ok? Ok.

 

Leave a comment