bug obsession

There’s this bug. It has created a slight obsession in me. I saw it years and years and years ago. It was beautiful. And elusive. I tried photographing it. The shots were not great. It flew away- imagine that. And I didn’t see it again for years.

I found another one. My veterinarian happens to have a side hobby of collecting insects. I got some advice from him, and was able to capture my obsession. I put it in the fridge to slow it down (I know, I know). And then I forgot. I”M SORRY BUG!!! I FORGOT YOU WERE IN THERE!!!! and I let him slow down a bit too much. Yup. I killed him. I felt terrible. And then I still tried to photograph it. For real. I still was not a fan of the shots.

*sigh*

And then one night, hubby rushed inside, told me to grab my camera, and dragged me outside. Right there, on our screen, was my obsession. Just enjoying the end of a day. The light? Horrible. The location? Horrendous. I should have had hubby steal a shot of me trying to steal a shot of this bug…it was uncomfortable and very much on-a-ladder-leaning-precariously-far-out-on-one-foot-bent-at-odd-angles-and-holding-the-camera-with-one-hand-while-trying-to-balance-and-cursing-the-light-and-the-iso-and-and-and

and this is what my brief moment with my obsession resulted in…

In case you were wondering, yes, I am very happy with these photos 🙂

 

*p.s. if anyone can tell me what this bug is, I will be one happy girl! I have looked at wasp moths, and oleander moths, and they both look similar….but I don’t think either is right.

Leave a Reply

