Gotcha!!!

Today is Tinsley’s GOTCHA! day.

Two years ago today, this strange little pug made her way to our home. She walked in, scared eyes, ears tucked back, nervous and confused. And then, settled right in. She wasn’t supposed to be a keeper. Really, she wasn’t. But we failed at that little detail. We kept her. My best failure to date πŸ™‚

She came in with a weird personality. A weird name. Weird bathroom habits. A very weird aversion to kisses. But she has a way. A way of wiggling right into your heart with her snuggle tactics. We kept a dog we didn’t mean to keep and two years later, I know that it was the best decision I made.

Punky was, without a doubt, what I call my “soul dog.” She has a special little place carved out in my heart that no other pet, or person for that matter, will ever be capable of getting near. Tinsley is, without a doubt, my meant-to-be-dog. She came exactly when she was supposed to. She acted as my medication to the grief I felt after the loss of Punky. She has managed to carve her own unique little spot in my heart.

She makes me laugh. She is such a little weirdo, and I wouldn’t like it if she contained anything less than the weirdness that she curently has. She made a name for herself in obedience class…though not necessarily in a way that would make a mom proud πŸ˜‰ She thinks she is a tough little thing and has no issues with standing up for herself. I love Tuesdays because she comes to work with me, and every Tuesday we have lunch together. I have declared Gwen Stefani’s Hollaback Girl as Her Song. It fits her, I promise.

She sleeps against me every night. She loves to chew bones and chase lizards. She is learning it is ok to be pet by strangers. She dances for treats and tries to steal sips from my drinks.

Two years ago today we got a strange little itty bitty pug. I love her and will celebrate her today β™₯

2 Comments to “Gotcha!!!”

  1. What a sweet story! Love the “gotcha day” term πŸ˜‰ might have to lift that for the day I got mister h in aug – thanks for sharing!

  2. Aw, happy (belated) gotcha day to you, Tinsley! What would we do without the little weirdos in our lives? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

