when the back up plan needs a back up…

Right about now my heart should be beating stupidly fast. My hands should have a slight tremor in them. My mouth should be dry and my thoughts should be racing. Right about now I should be sitting in my orientation class for my surgical technology class.

But I’m not.

Right now, I’m at work, frustrated that I have another ten hours before I get to go home.

It seems my back up plan had a slight glitch and has been put on hold for 6 months. I’m not gonna lie…there was an internal temper tantrum when this news was presented to me. Because I have scrubs in my closet. And glowing white sneakers still in the box. I have a mountain of school books stacked in my spare room. My lovely new school bag has been patiently waiting in my closet. I have name badges and parking tags waiting to be put to use. Everyone’s work schedules were completely rearranged, for me. My calendar is clearly marked- I should be in orientation right now.

But I’m not.

And while I wish I was, I’m officially ok that I’m not. Because I happened to be with a best friend when I was hit with the news. And because she happens to be pretty good at playing the pros/cons game.

So because my plans have been put on hold, I have a pretty little list of pros and only one lonely con.

So I’m not in orientation right now. So I have to explain to a lot of people why I am at work, and not in school. So I am a little disappointed.

But I kind of really like the way my pros/cons list looks. 🙂

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “when the back up plan needs a back up…”

  1. Hooray for pros and cons….but especially the pros! 😉

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

