Friday Five

I figure, it’s been awhile. You don’t really want to hear about all the un-uplifting stuff I have to talk about. So why not get random?

1.  Levi Jeans.  I finally re-discovered Levi Jeans. Isn’t that sad? How do you forget something as American as Levi’s?!?! Somehow I got lured by the cheapies of Old Navy. I convinced myself I loved these jeans. And then one day, I actually LOOKED at what I was seeing in the mirror- really poor fitting jeans that can only be accomplished by being cheap. I scurried back to my dear Levi’s, hanging my head in shame. Levi’s took me back with open arms ♥

2.  Books.  I love books. I love reading and getting lost in the stories. A couple recent reads…

It’s a bit of a random mix, I admit. My reading habits are very much like my music habits.

Columbine was one of those books that I picked up and considered on many occasions, but always put back down. One of the things I love about the Kindle is the option of downloading a preview before buying. I previewed the book. I was still unsure about it, but purchased it. It took me awhile to like this book. When I first started reading it, I thought it was a mistake. I felt like I was peeking in on someone else’s tragedy. But really, it is a very good book. It is well written and my eyes were opened to a slew of misconceptions about the tragedy.

Under The Dome was a surprise for me. I am not a huge Stephen King fan, but I had heard some good things about the book, and honestly, I was very tempted by it’s sheer size. If a storyline is good, there is nothing better than it going on and on and on! I loved the story and I loved the ability the writing had to make me so strongly hate some of the characters. I always appreciate an author that is so good at their craft that they can get their reader fully invested in the characters. However…as with most Stephen King books, it does get to a point that is just slightly too far-fetched for my taste. But otherwise, I loved the book and was very sad when it finally ended.

The Hunger Games trilogy was a peer pressure read 🙂 I had seen numerous people comment on these books and finally decided to take a peek. I really enjoyed these books. Reading the book descriptions, I was really unsure, but again, thanks to the Kindle preview, I was quickly sold. It is an interesting storyline that I did not expect to enjoy so much. These books are a fun, easy read.

Decoded is on my Kindle, and it is all Oprah’s fault. She was raving about the book, so I bought it. WOO PEER PRESSURE!!! I am not sure how I feel about the book yet. I am only about halfway through it, and I have mixed feelings. I find a lot of it fascinating; Jay-Z writes about a world I know nothing about, so I find a lot of it intriguing. I don’t think it is the best written book I have ever read- I feel like the topics bounce around quite a bit- yet he notes he has never been a linear thinker, so there you have it.  At it’s core though, it is interesting to see how he views rap as an art form, as poetry. To be able to get inside his mind, to see the true meanings of his lyrics. I have, by far, underlined more segments in this book than any other book I have read recently.

3.  Traffic Light.  I kinda really like this show.

annnnnnnnnnnd, that’s all you get 🙂 Friday THREE! Sorry, I got sidetracked, and a little bored, and gave up. It’s the procrastinator in me 🙂

One Comment to “Friday Five”

  1. The cheap old navy jeans thing is my fault.
    And I hate that I own them too! LOL

Leave a Reply

