distractions

Yesterday proved to be a fairly difficult day for me. Yesterday I picked up Punky’s ashes. It was harder than I expected. ‘Nuff said. I got home and could feel my emotions flailing around, desperately seeking something to latch on to and be thouroughly distracted by. My eyes landed on my camera and I shot in an incredibly careless manner. I felt like someone who had never held a camera, who had no idea how to work it, but just desperately wanted to take some pictures. SO, here are some incredibly distracted photos of two very random items that I happen to have a love affair with.

My Kindle.

Dear Kindle,

It took me a loooong time to get the courage to buy you. You see, I don’t particularly like change. I happen to love books. A lot. I like the way the paper feels. I like the weight of them in my hands. I like underlining and earmarking and passing them on. I like the comfort of spending stupid amounts of time in the bookstore. The idea of you concerned me. What would I do with all of those bookmarks I had made? What if I read something that I loved so much that I wanted to underline it? How would I survive never passing an actual book along to a friend?! But after a year of serious debate, I caved. I fell to the peer pressure and bought you. And I love you. I am so very sorry that I had ever doubted you. And really, I need to thank you. Your incredibly easy access to instant books came along at a time when I needed some serious distraction. The death of a friend. The death of my beloved dog. You let me walk away from my realities and spend time in the worlds of others, with just a little tap of a button. Thank you for that, dear Kindle.

My Purse.

I have been searching for a purse like this for YEARS. And finally I found it. It meets all the requirements: crossbody? check. perfect size? check. goes with pretty much everything? check? is as far from trendy as you can get? check. will actually look BETTER with age? check! Yay for perfect purses!!!

Combine two of my favorite things and you get this:

My bag has the perfect Kindle pocket! Clearly, they were meant to be!

Leave a Reply

