where I go

When I go biking, I repeat a mantra of the day’s sensations:  bright sun, blue sky, warm breeze, blue jay’s call, ice melting and so on.  This helps me transcend the traffic, ignore the clamorings of work, leave all the mind theaters behind and focus on nature instead.  I still must abide by the rules of the road, of biking, of gravity.  But I am mentally far away from civilization.  The world is breaking someone else’s heart.  ~Diane Ackerman

I absolutely love swimming. I love how weightless I feel. How free it makes me of my clumsiness. I love how, when I float on my back and the water envelops my face, all I hear is white noise and all I see is blue sky. I don’t swim nearly as often as I would like. And so my next most favorite thing to do is to go for a bike ride. Riding a bike affords me a freedom very close to swimming. I feel free and oblivious to the world around me. I feel weightless and relieved of the burden I allow time to press on me. This is where I go.

I have never made it a secret that I don’t love the state that I live in. Technically, I hate it. A lot. I plot my escape on a regular basis. There is little about the state of Florida that I find particularly attractive. But I must admit, while it may not be my first choice for scenery, I am incredibly lucky to live so close to Myakka State Park. It offers 14 miles of paved road to bike on, and countless off road trails. While it is popular with the tourists, it is somehow easier to deal with them, ignore them, while there. When biking through this park I am hardly aware of the people around me. I am hardly aware of myself. I love to just go. and ride. and just be.

One Comment to “where I go”

  1. Looks very nice, a view of Florida the rest of the world doesn’t see to often, thanks!

Leave a Reply

