Dear New York,

I would like to formally apologize for having such a misguided opinion of you. You see, I watch too much television and I am easily swayed by that glowing box. My love for Law & Order may have poisoned my mind slightly and so I went into our first date with a bit of trepidation. Don’t get me wrong, I was pretty sure we would have fun together. I mean, you are New York City after all. But I thought my fun might be dampered by a mugging (really) or being cursed at by scary New Yorkers. I thought I would be faced with a dirty cityscape. And saddened by outrageously overpriced food (you can thank Chicago for that tom-foolery). But here is the thing New York, I was wrong. And I’m a big enough person to admit that.

New York, it took only one blind date  for me to fall in love with you. I know it may seem a little fast, but it’s the truth. I want to run away with you and marry you and have your babies. Yup, it’s the truth. You are so friendly. And not nearly as dirty as I expected. You are ridiculously dog-friendly (a high ranker on my list of must-haves).  You are overwhelming and comforting all at once. You are an adventure of sights and sounds and smells. You are old and new and just the right amount of grit. So I hope I don’t scare you away with these feelings. But I thought it was only right for me to be open and just tell you. Ok? Call me!

2 Comments to “Dear New York,”

  1. You are so funny and so right all at the same time. And, for the record, I hate you and your wonderful picture taking abilites. Mine look like I gave my camera to a four-year-old compared to yours. *sigh* (you know i could never, ever hate you, right?!) 🙂

  2. i wanna blow this up and print it out and have it in my living room! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

