Tree Hugger

I frequently tramped eight or ten miles through the deepest snow to keep an appointment with a beech-tree, or a yellow birch, or an old acquaintance among the pines.  ~Henry David Thoreau

11-09NH-5-WEB

I just spent eight days in my home state of New Hampshire. It refreshed me. It renewed my love for nature. Specifically, birch trees. I was in a constant state of excitement, squealing slightly in my mind each time I spotted a birch tree as I was driving. That's right people, simple minds equal simple excitements!

11-09NH-3-WEB

Sometimes I get sad thinking that I spent 18 years in a beautiful state that I only now seem to appreciate. Mind you, I spent time in nature way back when. I grew up in nature. As my mom pointed out on this trip, much of the photos of me growing up are outdoors. In the woods. In a stream. In the backyard. Outside. And I even hit nature up as a teenager. But I was not a photographer way back when. Being a photographer changes things. It completely and totally changes the way you view the world around you. 

11-09NH-4-WEB

I wanted to spend HOURS with the birch trees. Sadly, my schedule was wacky, the weather was tempermental, the light fussy…..and OK, my fingers were cold! It seems Florida has done some rotten things to my blood! Instead, I spent about five minutes with a couple birch trees. My little photographer's soul was fed.

11-09NH-1-WEB
   

One Comment to “Tree Hugger”

  1. Well, I didn’t open this expecting it to make me cry. Thank you for letting me remember the nature walks with my Poppy, looking at all the birch trees & the leaves. These are a beautiful reminder of someone I love so dearly – thank you for being you & sharing your work with the world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

