Were You Missing Me?

you were, weren't you? You were just thinking to yourself, jeez, I wish Kristie would post some self-centered photos. Well never fear, I wouldn't want to let you down!

ok really? I really am not a fan of me. I don't like the way I look. I don't like my size. My smile. My nose. Would you like for me to go on? Because believe me, I can! one of the best things about photography for me has been the lessons it teaches me. I have learned the importance of documentation. As much as I HATE looking at images of myself, as much as I HATE being in front of the camera, even if it is only me taking those photos, I understand that if I do not document myself, a day will come when I will regret it. It makes me feel vain. silly. yup, self-centered. But I am forcing myself to do it. I made a promise to myself at the beginning of the year that every month I would take a self portrait. I have slacked on that promise. It is not as easy as you would think, to take your own photo! It gets tricky and frustrating, and half the time, I simply don't feel like making the effort.

This is me, now.

07-04-09 sp-13-WEB 

plaid is my favorite color. my life is currently complicated. smiles do not come easy.

07-04-09 sp-17-WEB 

07-04-09 sp-26-WEB 

I hate my smile. I am supposed to wear glasses…and rarely do. my cheekbones are making a grand re-entrance onto my face.

07-04-09 sp-27-WEB 

I have a difficult time keeping my emotions off of my face. I roll my eyes too often. I plague myself with what-if's.

07-04-09 sp-25-WEB 

I am trying to learn to love this body I am in.

07-04-09 sp-28-WEB 

I am confused and complicated and moody. This is me right now. There are days that I like me and days that I don't. I am trying to make the days that I do happen more often.

2 Comments to “Were You Missing Me?”

  1. i totally understand everything you’re saying! there are few things i hate more than having to be in front of the camera lens instead of behind it. but some of these shots of you are great! i love the B&W shots! and i think it’s awesome that you’re doing a self portrait once a month–good for you!

  2. ohhhh, I love these! Its been a while since I checked in with your blog…look at all that I have missed! Love, love, love them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

