Textured, for your pleasure.

I have spent the past two days at the beach. This is somewhat of a big deal for me. I will let you in on a little secret….I have lived in Florida for the past 12 years. I have never once gone to the beach alone. Ever. I am a scaredy cat, plain and simple. I am simply not a fan of doing things on my own. It is one of my biggest character faults. So I have decided this year is the year to address that issue. And so, I found myself at the beach, allllll alone. And an amazing thing happened….nothing happened! No one tried to steal me away. The world did not come crashing down on me. And to top it off…I didn't even get a sunburn! AND AND AND, the park ranger lady gave me HER parking place. Woot! How exciting to get to park in an "authorized vehices only" spot, KNOWING you are SO not getting a ticket (and knowing otherwise you may STILL be waiting for a place to park)!

I am a Pisces through-and-through. And so the water has super powers over me. I pout if I am near water that I cannot actually go into. Stomp my feet pouting. I have been stressed for oooooooh, about a year now, so spending two days in the water was just what the doctor ordered.

Since my mojo has yet to arrive on my doorstep I voted against the idea of bringing my "real" camera and instead just grabbed the point and shoot. I have a fascination with all the textures the beach has to offer. Especially this particular beach, with all of its fallen trees.

DSC01577-WEB 

You have to walk just over a mile to get to this spot, but let me tell you, it is worth every hot, tiring step (yes, that's right, I whine the whole way, what of it?). It feels as if you have entered a new world, that you have suddenly found yourself on a deserted island and at any moment Wilson will appear.

I have been ruminating over this post on Erin Vey's blog and decided to put my little Sony Cyber-shot (for the record, I SO did not pay that price! the camera is only a couple hundred bucks) to the test. I put it onto the macro mode, turned off the flash (always turn your flash off if lighting permits…you will notice a big difference in the way your shots look!) and snapped away at all those awesome textures that the beach had to offer.

These were all taken on auto mode, and edited as I normally edit in Photoshop. 

DSC01555-WEB    

this next shot made me so happy to see such great depth of field from such a basic camera! 
DSC01557-WEB 
DSC01558-WEB 
DSC01559-WEB 
DSC01561-WEB 
DSC01568-WEB 
what? you didn't know we have purple lizards in Florida?
DSC01576-WEB 
DSC01580-WEB 
DSC01591-WEB 

that's right people, I have the poor man's ipod, and I love it for all it's itty bitty goodness!

DSC01607-WEB 

So remember…it is not the fancy camera that takes fantastic photos. It is the person operating the camera that works the magic. Don't let yourself think that you cannot take great photos simply because you do not have the camera that all the pros use. Think creatively. Try changing your perspective. Look at things from different angles. Make whatever camera you have work for you.

One Comment to “Textured, for your pleasure.”

  1. Reading this post made miss you so much! I have a confession and it’s that I hate the beach…okay maybe not hate, but an hour is too long to be there for me, but see these photos and reading your post…which by the way I can totally hear your voice with every word makes me want to come to florida just to go to the beach with you!
    So I have decided just now….I am coming to visit you…name the month and I will pick the day and that’s all there is to it Missy!
    LOVE the pics…..and I totally agree it’s not the camera, its the totally awesome photographer behind the camera! SMOOCHES!

Leave a Reply

