Overflowing with Thanks.

Hi! It's me.
11-21-08-3-WEB 
that's me up there, being a class A dork. I rock at the dork thing.

So I was thinking that since it is Thanksgiving, the only proper thing to blog about it the things that I am thankful for. I tend to be a glass half empty kind of girl…I know, I know, I'm working on it…but I try to remember that sometimes it is the little things in life that really make me smile.

I am thankful for…

…my husband that rocks my world on so many different levels. it has been a loooooooooong year, and yet somehow, somehow he still stands by me. he still holds my hand. the man has more patience than anyone I have ever met.

…my home. I curse it out on a regular basis, but at the end of the day, I love this little place. I would be lost if the winds of florida ever stole it away from us.

…and that brings me to my backyard. It is a well-known fact that I despise the state of florida, otherwise known as hell, but I cannot deny the beauty of my backyard. of seeing dolphins play in the water or the wings of stingray as they float by.

…this strange gift of photography that I have been given. I am still trying to figure this one out, trying to figure out where I want it to take me, if I want it to take me anywhere. but I am insanely grateful for it, nonetheless. because it gives me balance. it gives me clarity. it allows me to set down all of my baggage and just be. it beings me back to me.

…my crazy dogs. some people have children, I have my puppers thankyouverymuch.

…my best friend in new hampshire. somehow, after all these years and distance and many changes and two children, we still make it work. she still is comfort to me and "gets" me in a way that no one else ever could. if I try any further to put this relationship into words…well, there are no words.

…my best friends in Indiana. I never knew that family….in laws no less!!!…could be anything more than family. and yet somehow, I am in love with these two girls. they allow me to be me. they are there at my lowest moments and my highest. they are so very easy to be with…and SO very hard to be away from.

…my boss that totally "gets" it. I have never had such an awesome boss….and I will so get slammed for this one, but there is something to be said for not working with women!

…my dad for being him. he makes me laugh. he is my voice of reason. he is another one that there really are no words.

…my mom and all of our complications*. *yes mom, I SO just said that!  without her…well, I can't even go there. I love our hour long phone calls and her sweet voice when she calls me in the morning. WHEN will hubster learn to wake me up like that???

…ok, so I can't keep being deep, it will ruin my reputation. so on to some of the simpler pleasures…

…make fun all you want, but I am so very thankful for dave and all his musical genius. that is all I'm saying about that.

…and I am thankful for decaf hot tea, whoever makes the antibiotics that my pugger lives off of, clean sheets, the smell of cold weather, the friend that lets us keep his kayaks in our backyard, my kick ass therapist (really), having a coworker that makes me laugh, that my hair has not fallen out from all the torture I have put it through, my daily emails from someone that completely gets me, having friends that will be there in a heartbeat, being able to wear flip flops year round, having wonderful defensive driving skills….and yeah, let's just leave it at that.

It has been an interesting year with many ups and downs…ok, lots of downs, but in the end, I have so very much to be thankful for and I hope that I never forget that or take it for granted.

Have an awesome holiday!

Leave a Reply

