giving the gift of your creativity…and how it makes you want to vomit.

I’m not one to have a whole lot of confidence in what I do. I never really have been. At times, I am able to acknowledge that I can do something well(ish). But to think I am great at something is a foreign concept. And to think that anything I do is worthy of another is just downright insanity! So the sudden idea I had to make quilts for a family member? Completely unsolicited? ABSURD!

What if they hated them? What if they went straight to the re-gift pile? What if What if What if?!?!?! My confidence issues added to my good old fashioned anxiety was about to equal vomit-inducing fears of rejection. Who knew quilting could be so high-stress, right?!?!

I have barely made anything for myself, let alone for someone else (which is exactly why I expertly deflect every suggestion/request I get to create a quilt for anyone ;) ). But I had this grand idea to make a quilt for the children of our Aunts Sue & Karina. We love these women so much, and Sue has made such an impact on so many of our lives. One day I was thinking about them and trying to figure out something we could do for them. They have a new baby and a toddler, and I suddenly knew that I should use this new hobby of mine to gift them something special.

Baby Quilts - handmade

I sent out a sneaky text simply asking for nursery colors for him, and her favorite colors. The response? Her favorite color is rainbow, and we don’t have a color theme for him. SIGH! Come on people! Help an indecisive girl out. Obviously, this response induced all sorts of anxiety. Now what?!?! I knew that these environmentally conscious chicks would appreciate if I could somehow incorporate that into this gift, so I took to the internet and narrowed down my choices by deciding to use organic cotton only. I quickly decided I wanted their quilts to coordinate, and I wanted a simple design (because this girl is a slooooooooooow poke crafter!). I settled on my new obsession- orange, and then worked around that theme. I knew I was taking a risk with the bold colors- I feel like most baby quilts I see are much more subdued, but that word doesn’t really exist in my vocabulary, and really, these kids are Cool Kids. They needed Cool Quilts. I only had to hope that Moms agreed!

In the end, I am in loooove with these quilts, but still, I might have gone into a cold sweat as I packaged these up to send off to California. Again, what if? what if? what if? And then? And then I got the most beautiful text, along with a video, that made me realize sometimes it is worth taking a risk and sharing your craft with others. Even if it does make you want to vomit.

And so…my first gift quilts…

Hers:

Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

I am slightly obsessed with the backs of both of these quilts. The patterns are so sweet ♥

Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

With each quilt I make, I add a tag to the back. I covet some of the custom tags I have seen out there and at times I toy with the idea of ordering some. But in the end, I enjoy using the fabric from each quilt to make a unique tag.

Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

And his…

Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer Baby Quilt | Handmade | Quilting | Kulik Photography | SW Florida Photographer

4 Comments to “giving the gift of your creativity…and how it makes you want to vomit.”

  1. Be proud and pleased — no vomiting allowed! Very lovely quilts. Good job — high fives and pats on the back!!

  2. Absolutly beautiful what a wonderful gift they will have it forever!
    Who knows in there later years they may even cut a small piece to place in a quilt they make themselves just as you passed on your baby blanket.
    You have a huge heart and it shows.love ya.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 364 other followers

